Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Release date: November 15, 2011

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genres: Science Fiction / Young Adult / Dystopian

Pages: 338

ISBN: 9780062085481

Summary (from Goodreads):

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

My Review:

SPOILERS

Okay so I never review a book without spoilers lol I cannot control myself from spilling the good and the bad in the story. My apologies.

Anyway, this story is a mix of likes and frustrations but I must tell you guys that I like like like this book. Of course, in every book there is something you really must not have comprehended and expected that wy you become frustrated, yes? I must list them all for you. Here:

LIKES

1. Juliette – I feel really sad for her. As in, I feel bad when Adam tells the readers how she gave up a seat on their field trip so one girl can come along, how she gave up her lunch to somebody not close to her and treated her like she doesn’t exist after she got okay, how she admitted that she was the one who cheated of someone’s math test and failed and got detention. And also when she accidentally killed this little boy, well, she did that to save him, yes? It’s not like it’s her fault or it’s her intention to kill him. She’s just so pure and the only thing that she desires is to be loved and accepted. I love her pure intentions and her uncorrupted mind.

2. Adam – Thought he was an asshole when he came into the cell to be Juliette’s roommate, it turns out that he had this secret crush on her since they were young. I love him and his effort in finding her. His dedication for peace and for making her feel loved. And also, his love for his brother is just so sweet. He doesn’t want him to be afraid and to be traumatized with the things happening. Oh, a new Adam to swoon for! LOL

3. Juliette’s gift – Well, I think her gift is very powerful. She doesn’t know how to control it yet but I know she will. And even though she knows she can kill people with it, she still chooses not to, despite of the being rude and unkind to her.

4. Kenji – LOL I thought he was some spy who Warner sent to kill Adam and bring Juliette back but he isn’t and he is cool. He brought them in an underground establishment and introduced Juliette into a small world full of people like her. People with special gifts and would appreciate Juliette if she stays there with them.

FRUSTRATIONS

1. Warner – I hate him like Juliette hated him LOL I just think it’s weird for him to be so obsessed with Juliette. I mean, I know she got powers and all but he ended up liking her, loving her and wanted to be with her. And yes, I usually hate the people who the main characters are hating lol I feel the need to hate them too! And he tried to hurt and kill Adam!!! I ain’t sitting around liking this Warner guy LOL

2. The X-Men like ending plot – Oh lol I may be the only one who have noticed but yes, I did and it’s kinda frustrating. See, Juliette has this super ability, she can kill people with her bare hands, and then she was not accepted by the public so she was detained in an asylum for more than 200 days and then got out and had been abducted (for lack of a better term) by Warner and escaped and ran away with Adam. I like this part of the story. But to me, it sounds just so weird for Juliette to be finding people like her when for seventeen years, she thought she was alone and didn’t have anyone who could understand her. Yes yes yes? And the “leader” of the so-called underground movement, Castle, possesses psychokinesis, which helps him to move things with his mind. Just like Professor X in X-Men. The only difference is Castle cannot communicate through his mind whilst Professor X can.

Anyway, I am not comparing the whole book to X-Men, just the ending part LOL but hey, I liked this book and I am looking forward to the next one which is Unravel Me.

